

INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES January 16, 2024

Robertson Theatre

The regular meeting of the Independent School District #2155 was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair Dan Lawson. Other Board members present: Melissa Seelhammer, Barb Tumberg, Brandon Kern, Julie Bushinger, Kent Schmidt and Supt. Lee Westrum.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern, to approve the agenda. Motion approved unanimously.

The following individuals addressed the Board during the Public Form Period:

Alicia Wynn

The Board conducted the organizational items on the agenda:

- I. ANNUAL ELECTION OF OFFICERS
 - A. OFFICE OF CHAIR:

Seelhammer nominated Lawson for the office of Chair. Call of other nominations. None given. Lawson elected Chair by acclamation.

B. OFFICE OF VICE CHAIR:

Tumberg nominated Schmidt to the office of Vice Chair. Call for other nominations. None given. Schmidt elected Vice Chair by acclamation.

C. OFFICE OF CLERK:

Kern nominated Tumberg to the office of Clerk. Call for other nominations. None given. Tumberg elected Clerk by acclamation.

D. OFFICE OF TREASURER:

Schmidt nominated Seelhammer to the office of Treasurer. Call for other nominations. None given. Seelhammer elected Treasurer by acclamation.

- II. OTHER:
 - A. REGULAR BOARD MEETING DATES AND TIMES:

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the 2024 regular monthly meeting schedule with location changes to Deer Creek (June) and Bluffton (October). Motion approved unanimously.

January	16	Tuesday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
February	20	Tuesday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
March	18	Monday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
April	15	Monday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 16, 2024 Robertson Theatre

May	20	Monday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
June	10	Monday – 5:30 pm	Deer Creek
July	22	Monday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
August	26	Monday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
September	16	Monday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
October	21	Monday – 5:30 pm	Bluffton
November	25	Monday – 5:30 pm	Robertson Theatre
December Robertson Theatre	16	Monday – 5:30 pm	Truth in Taxation Hearing,

B. NAMING OF OFFICIAL PUBLICATION:

A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Tumberg, to name the Wadena Pioneer Journal as the official publication. Motion approved unanimously.

C. NAMING OF OFFICIAL DEPOSITORIES:

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Kern, to name the official depositories as such: the Board authorized Wadena State Bank for checking accounts; the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund for investments, wire transfers, bond payments and receipt of state of money; and MN Trust for investments and receipts. Motion approved unanimously.

D. FINANCIAL AUTHORIZATION:

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Schmidt, to authorize the Business Manager, Senior Bookkeeper, Student Activity Administrative Assistant, and Payroll Clerk to use the facsimile signatures of the officers on school district checks after proper School Board and/or Superintendent authorization approving the payments of said claims or services, to make wire transfers, and to invest school funds in qualifying investments per previous listing of designated financial institutions. Motion approved unanimously.

E. FEDERAL PROGRAM REPRESENTATIVE:

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Tumberg, to name Superintendent Lee Westrum, Business Manager Brian Jacobson, Elementary Principal Louis Rutten, and Senior Bookkeeper Megan Martin as official representatives and contact persons for Title I, Title II, Title IV and all other federal programs. Motion approved unanimously.

F. AUTHORIZATION TO APPOINT SCHOOL ATTORNEY:



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 16, 2024 Robertson Theatre

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to give authorization to the School Board Chair and/or Superintendent to appoint a school attorney as needed. Motion approved unanimously.

G. SCHOOL BOARD COMPENSATION RATES FOR 2024:

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Kern, to approve to maintain the current rate of \$2,200 for each school board member, plus \$600 additional for chair, \$135 for vice chair, clerk and treasurer, and an additional \$1,175 for board negotiators. Motion approved unanimously.

- H. COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS: The Board Chair will make committee assignments and notify members of their committees.
- I. RESOLUTION FOR PART-TIME EMPLOYMENT OF SCHOOL BOARD MEMBER: A motion was made by Seelhammer, seconded by Bushinger, to approve a resolution for part-time employment for Kent Schmidt and Barb Tumberg. Motion passed 4-0 with Schmidt and Tumberg abstaining.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the December 18, 2023 Regular Board Meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern to approve the resignation of Kyle Petermeier, JV Softball Coach. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the Business Manager's report. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern, to approve the following Disbursements:

Vendor Check #'s	45008 - 45196	\$327,954.28
Credit Card (BMO Harris Bank):		\$14,602.70
Student Activity Check #'s	23195 - 23198	\$4,500.54

Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Kern, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the following donations to the district:

Donor	Purpose	Amount
Paul Drange	1957 John Deere 430 Tractor for Large Engines class, estimated FMV \$3,000 - non cash donation	\$3,000.00



INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2155 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

January 16, 2024 Robertson Theatre

American Legion Auxiliary Unit 328 - Deer Creek	6th Grade trip to St. Paul	\$250.00
Various small donors	ECFE Donations	\$52.00
Nate & AnnaMarie Tabery	Music	\$300.00
Ottertail Rod & Gun Club	Fishing Team	\$1,500.00
Dave & Diane Peters	FCCLA	\$50.00

Motion approved unanimously.

Eileen Weber, Sourcewell District Strategy Partner, presented the Effective Schools Blueprint.

A motion was made by Bushinger, seconded by Seelhammer, to approve the seniority lists. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Tumberg, to approve the Teacher 2023-2025 Collective Bargaining Agreement. Motion approved unanimously.

The Board went into Closed Session for Negotiations Strategy at 6:20 p.m.

The Board ended the Closed Session at 7:23 p.m.

A motion was made by Tumberg, seconded by Bushinger, to approve the Early Retirement Incentive Resolution. Motion approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Schmidt, seconded by Kern, to adjourn the meeting at 7:27 p.m. Motion approved unanimously.

The next regular meeting of the WDC School Board is Tuesday, February 20, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. in the Robertson Theatre.

Respectfully submitted by:

Barb Tumberg, Board Clerk

Date:

_____ Date: _____

Dan Lawson, Board Chair