

Dr. Mark Scott

Board Members

Helen Hughes, Chair Dr. Rick Unruh, Vice Chair Dave Crockett Mark Ivory

Lori Johnson Jon Nichols Bryan Upshaw

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 18, 2023

Release #2022/23 - 046

Contact: Jennifer C. Jones, Director of Community & School Affairs, (478) 988-6390, Jennifer.C.Jones@hcbe.net

Dr. Dana Brock Named Principal of Miller Elementary School



HOUSTON COUNTY, GA – Dr. Dana Brock was named as the next principal of Miller Elementary School during the Houston County Board of Education meeting held on January 17, 2023. Dr. Brock will begin this role in June after the current principal, Mrs. Elizabeth Johnson, retires. Dr. Brock currently serves as an Assistant Principal at Feagin Mill Middle School.

"I am thrilled and honored to be the new principal of Miller Elementary," said Dr. Brock. "I can't wait to serve this amazing school community and work with our staff, students and parents to ensure that our Mighty Rockets keep soaring."

Dr. Brock began her teaching career at David Perdue Elementary teaching second grade. After transferring to Russell Elementary, she taught third and fifth grade. She began in school administration as

an Assistant Principal at Kings Chapel Elementary and Langston Road Elementary.

Dr. Brock received a Bachelor of Science in 1996 and a Master of Science in Early Childhood Education in 2001, both from Fort Valley State University. In 2003, she received her Educational Specialist in Curriculum Instruction and Administration Management from Nova Southeastern University. Dr. Brock also holds a certification in Georgia Performance-Based Leadership from Columbus State University and a Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction from Mercer University.

Dr. Brock is married to Alonzo Brock, and they have three children.

Miller Elementary School is located at 101 Pine Valley Drive in Warner Robins. For more information about the school, visit https://mes.hcbe.net/.

###





