MINUTES *Board Meeting* April 23, 2018

The **board meeting** of the Tattnall County Board of Education was held on **April 23, 2018, 1:00 P.M.** The meeting was **called to order** with a **welcome** by Vice-Chair, Marilyn Carter, **prayer** by Donna K. Tootle and **pledge** to the Flag led by Mary Ruth Ray.

Those board members present were:

Marilyn Carter Ronnie Oliver DuAnn Cowart Davis Mary Ruth Ray Donna K. Tootle

The board Superintendent present was:

Dr. Gina G. Williams

System staff members present were:

Donna Bland, Debbie Powell, Tina Debevec, Starla Barker, Kristi Kaiser, Adam Kirby, Glenn Stewart, Carla Waters, James Brown, Wesley Waters, Gwenda Johnson, Lynna Hilliard, Denna Ansley, Buddy Collins, James Hallford, Eric Durrence, David Brazel, Tommy Ray, Julian Larsen and Rusty Reardon.

Visitors present were:

Pam Waters, *Journal-Sentinel*, Stephanie Thomas, Shonda Hawkins, Ashlee Wright, Danielle Sikes and Adam Cowart.

On Motion of DuAnn Cowart Davis, and seconded by Mary Ruth Ray, the board unanimously adopted the agenda for April 23, 2018.

Received presentations/requests from visitors/others:

(To assure that the board can conduct its business efficiently, all presentations should be brief and shall be limited, not to exceed five [5] minutes, unless an extension of time is granted. All personnel/student and real estate matters may be discussed in executive session.

• RMS presentation - Art projects

II. ITEMS OF INFORMATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- A. Received reports from Superintendent.
 - 1. Superintendent reported:
- a. Recognized maintenance department.
- b. Recognized technology department.
- III. SUPERINTENDENT'S RECOMMENDATIONS AND REPORTS On motion of Mary Ruth Ray and seconded by Ronnie Oliver, the board unanimously approved the consent agenda as presented for the April 23, 2018, meeting.
 - A. Approved Minutes

Regular board meeting for Monday, March 26, 2018, 1:00 p.m.

B. Employed certified personnel: (effective 2018-2019)

(Employment is temporary/provisional until the receipt of a criminal records check/fingerprints and Georgia Teacher Certification).

Regan Kennedy, Teacher Glen C. Anderson, Teacher Hannah Longo, Teacher Sherri Aly, Teacher Joseph Dewberry, Teacher

- C. Employed non-certified personnel: Kayla Toler, parapro Ronnie Jones, bus driver Darrell Boyett, bus driver
- D. Accepted resignations and identified personnel leaving the system: Vicki Mallory, teacher (resignation effective May 25, 2018) Joshua Torres, teacher (resignation effective May 25, 2018) Tammy DeLoach, teacher (resignation effective May 25, 2018) Glenn Stewart, Principal (retirement, effective May 31, 2018) Lynna Hilliard, Technology Director (retirement, effective August 31, 2018) Ann Thompson, Asst. Principal (retirement, effective May 31, 2018)
- E. Approved to release from 2018-2019 contract. Marvin Kersey, teacher
- F. Approved Policy JBC (School Admissions) and Policy JBC(1) (Homeless Students)
- G. Approved summer school staff: John Glanton, Sabrina Page, Janet Bussell and Ken Murphy.
- H. Approved surplus: Bus#295-Vin# 1GBM7T1JSJ105175
 - I. Accepted March, 2018, expenditures.
- IV. Motioned by DuAnn Cowart Davis, the board adjourned at 1:47 p.m.

Chairman	
Vice Chair	
Board Member	
Secretary	

Approved: May 21, 2018