MINUTES Board Meeting May 23, 2022

The **board meeting** of the Tattnall County Board of Education was held on **May 23**, **2022**, **1:00 P.M.** The meeting was **called to order** with a **welcome** by Chairman, Richard Bland, **prayer** by Dale Kicklighter and **pledge** to the Flag led by Stephanie Thomas.

Those board members present were:

Richard Bland DuAnn Cowart Davis Stephanie Thomas Mary Ruth Ray Dale Kicklighter

The board Superintendent present was:

Dr. Gina G. Williams

System staff members present were:

Donna Bland, Tina Debevec, Kristen Waters, Carla Waters, Tish Holland, Starla Barker, Lisa Trim, Debbie Powell, Becky Anderson, Cari Crews, Marika Crews, Barbie Brazel, Cindy Boyett, David Tucker, Donny Sikes, Kristi Kaiser, Lakisha Bobbitt, Doug Hassol, Alisa Nails, Katara Scott, Inga Cashon, Joanna Rogers, Tori Flowers, Justin, Flowers, Roseann DeJarnette, Della Brown, Lorna King, Alexis Ferrell, Buddy Collins, Jane Stanley, Holly Thigpen and Ami Sanders.

Visitors present were:

Pam Waters, *Journal-Sentinel*, Stella Knight, Tommy Knight, Trey Cashon, Earl Cashon, Helen Cashon, Walt Rogers, Pat Easterling, India Easterling, Robert DeJarnette, Kenny Hunter, Kandy Hunter, Wynn White, Ridge Ferrell, Robbi Grene, Amanda Peters, Marina Sanders, Charles Martin and Henrietta Curvin.

On Motion of Stephanie Thomas, and seconded by Mary Ruth Ray, the board unanimously adopted the agenda for May 23, 2022.

Received presentations/requests from visitors/others:

(To assure that the board can conduct its business efficiently, all presentations should be brief and shall be limited, not to exceed five [5] minutes, unless an extension of time is granted. All personnel/student and real estate matters may be discussed in executive session.

• Recognized Retirees:

Buddy Collins Jane Stanley
Roseann DeJarnette
Doug Hassol Holly Thigpen
Lorna King

Recognized 2023 Tattnall County Teachers of the Year

CES: Katara Scott RES: Alexis Ferrell

NTMS: Inga Cashon (System winner)

GES: Alisa Nails
STMS: Tori Flowers
TCHS: Joanna Rogers

II. ITEMS OF INFORMATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- A. Received reports from Superintendent.
 - 1. Superintendent reported:
 - a) Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by Stephanie Thomas and seconded by Mary Ruth Ray, it was unanimous to award NTMS roof bid to Ray's Roofing.
 - b) Upon recommendation of Dr. Gina G. Williams, Superintendent, motioned by DuAnn Cowart Davis and seconded by Dale Kicklighter, it was unanimous to award STMS roof bid to MMI Construction.
 - c) ESPLOST information.
- B. Received reports from other system personnel:
 - 1. Debbie Powell
 - a) District financial status review.

III. SUPERINTENDENT'S RECOMMENDATIONS AND REPORTS

On motion of DuAnn Cowart Davis and seconded by Mary Ruth Ray, the board unanimously approved the consent agenda as presented for the May 23, 2022, board meeting.

A. Approved Minutes

Board meeting for Monday, April 25, 2022, 1:00 p.m.

B. Employed certified personnel: (Effective 2022-2023)

(Employment is temporary/provisional until the receipt of a criminal records check/fingerprints and Georgia Teacher Certification and when applicable, release from another system's contract).

Meredith Collins, Teacher

Brittany Wilt, Teacher

Hannah Lee, Teacher

Kagon Carter, Teacher

Brian Todd, Teacher

Geoffrey Atkinson, Teacher

C. Employed non-certified personnel: (effective 2022-2023)

(Employment is temporary/provisional until the receipt of a criminal records check/fingerprints)

Joshua Warwick, parapro

Keith Calhoun, sub bus driver

Janet Pointer, parapro

Keijuan Calhoun, parapro

Candace Breland, parapro

Michelle Pratt, parapro

D. Approved release from 2 Zachary Towery, tea Robin Hodges, teach Dakota Tillman, teac	cher Megan Griffee, teacher er
E. Approved Reika Strickland contract for water testing.	
F. Approved Student work Eli Debevec Shelby Helms Josiah Anderson Bode DeLoach Anna DeLoach	ers: Deondre Lester Jacob Hill Landon Jones Landon Sauls
G. Approved All-Clean contract.H. Accepted April 2022 expenditures.IV. Motioned by Mary Ruth Ray, the board adjourned at 2:01 p.m.	
Chairman	
Vice Chair	
Board Member	
Secretary	

Approved: June 27, 2022