Minutes – Executive Session

The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on March 17, 2025 beginning at 7:36 P.M. Board members present were Yearout, Parrott, Rutherford, Sanders, Smallwood, and Eckhoff. Eichler was absent

Kevin Smith, Adam Curtis, Elizabeth Eckhoff, and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared a letters of retirement from Diane Lines, Library Para, and Cindy Reser, High School Paraprofessional for the end of 2024-2025 school year. A motion was made by Eckhoff, seconded by Smallwood to accept the retirement letters as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith shared a letter of resignation from Matthew Spunaugle, High School Government teacher, and Girls JV/V Basketball coaching effective for the end of the 2024-2025 school year. A motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Smallwood to accept the resignation as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Curtis recommended the hiring of Mason Sanders for HS Government for the 2025-2026 school year. A motion made by Parrott, seconded by Eckhoff to accept the recommendation. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-abstained; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes. Motion carried 5 yes, 0 no, 1 abstained.

High School Principal, Adam Curtis, reported on Amy Biggerstaff, Ashley Brown and Jennifer Greene's evaluation and recommends a tenure teacher contracts be offered for the 2025-2026 school year. After discussion, a motion was made by Sanders, seconded by Parrott to offer tenure teacher contracts as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

The Teachers for Consideration for 2025-2026 Contracts List was given to board members. The probationary elementary, special education, and secondary teachers were considered for 2025-2026 contracts. The respective principals reported on the individual teacher evaluations and answered questions presented concerning the individuals listed. After discussion a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Smallwood to offer probationary teacher contracts for the 2025-2026 school year to Cheyanne Beard, Caitlin Brandt, Aleah Johnson, Kelsey Smith, Jennifer Smith, Braden Drehle, Mikel Drehle, Karie Gutierrez, Katelynn Schuld, Tatum Sinclair, Connor Spunaugle, Gabbie Spunaugle, Malinda McBride, Jill Reimund, Sandra Bryant, Alexis Hyde, Michelle Kenig, Camryn Lynde, Jeremy Owen, Kadey Sartain, and Kimberly Schmidt. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Minutes – Executive Session

Mr. Smith asked the board should any further certified resignations be presented to him that he have permission to hire the best candidate to fill the position. A motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Sanders to give permission to hire the best candidate. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Sanders to adjourn the executive session at 8:30 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Eckhoff-yes; Smallwood-yes; Eichler-absent; Sanders-yes; Rutherford-yes; Parrott-yes; and Yearout-yes; Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education	Secretary, Board of Education